I’m A Grown Ass Man

Today when I pulled up Daily Snopes I first saw the article below. Most of these obscure reports do not have pictures. Well, you can thank my mom and dad for creating me, and then me for providing an illustrations…Enjoy!

Lawmaker Seeks to Ban Pajamas in Public

SHREVEPORT, La. — Caddo Parish District 3 Commissioner Michael Williams doesn’t care to see people in their PJs, at least not at a shopping center, restaurant or anywhere else in public.

Williams said after seeing a group of young men at a local Walmart wearing pajama pants that revealed one young man’s private parts, he decided to push for an ordinance that would prohibit wearing pajama pants in public.

“Pajamas are designed to be worn in the bedroom at night,” Williams said. “If you can’t (wear pajamas) at the Boardwalk or courthouse, why are you going to do it in a restaurant or in public? Today it’s pajamas,” Williams said. “Tomorrow it’s underwear. Where does it stop?”

Khiry Tisdem, of Shreveport, has no problem going out in his “Family Guy” Stewie pajama pants.

“I wear my (pajama) pants anywhere,” Tisdem said. “I’m an American, and I can wear my clothes anywhere I want. I’m a grown man. I pay my own bills, so I can wear my clothes the way I want. I don’t know why it’s an issue.”

Tracy Carter, also of Shreveport, was out shopping Thursday with her 3-year-old son, Aaron — she in her Valentine’s Day fuzzy pajama pants and Aaron in dinosaur pajamas.

“We all wear our pajamas out,” Carter said. “I can get out of the bed and go to the store, and they’re covering everything. I’ve got a 3-year-old, a 5-year-old and a 12-year-old to deal with.”

One problem with a possible ordinance is what constitutes pajamas. Williams said it could be defined as a garment sold in the sleepwear section of department stores, and violators should not go to jail but perform community service.

“It’s going to be very difficult to enforce the way it’s described, although I’ve not seen anything in writing,” Caddo Parish Sheriff Steve Prator said.

The city of Shreveport has a no-sagging law. In 2011, Shreveport police reported 31 incidents involving “wearing of pants below the waist in public.” Most of those were unattached to other more serious crimes, and the offenders were issued misdemeanor summons, police spokesman Bill Goodin said.

Caddo Parish Attorney Charles Grubb said adopting a parishwide ordinance similar to that of Shreveport police’s is a possibility. Prator said he has not known the pajama pants issue to be a problem in the parish.

Williams plans to poll his fellow commissioners in February, which he hopes will lead to introducing an ordinance.

Read more: http://www.azcentral.com/offbeat/articles/2012/01/13/20120113louisiana-pajamas-in-public-ban.html#ixzz1jVRo6yBU

43 responses to “I’m A Grown Ass Man

  1. What a maroon! That’s what makes me sick of government- they’re all wrapped up in petty crap like who wears what where, but doesn’t have what it takes to wrestle with big problems like education, income inequality, etc.

    • I couldn’t have said it better, this is precisely why I even put this on here. It is that stupid I don’t need to comment…just draw some pictures

  2. I agree with Rumpydog. Though PJs in public drives me nuts, trying to legislate against this stuff is just beyond stupid. Wait, I have a word for it all: asshattery.

    • Indeed like that can really be defined, once again some people should keep their penis inside their clothes not restrict pajamas as much as I do hate seeing them.

  3. There’s no accounting for some people’s tastes … or lack thereof. But we all have the right to look foolish. Even a Parrish Commissioner.

  4. I do not agree that there should be a law against PJ’s in public, but people should have enough decency NOT to wear pajamas out and about. The one comment in your article about having 3, 5, and 12 year old to “deal with…” Well, honey – you are not the first person to have children. I come from a family of 4, and being older, my mother raised us in a time when a woman put on a dress, fixed their hair, put on makeup, etc before she left the house with the kids. And all the kids looked presentable as well. I am not saying to do so now – I’m sure not going to. But, no matter how I feel, I never leave the house in my pajamas mainly because I have self-respect – I will not even go to the store in sweat pants. It only takes me about 30 seconds to take off the sweat pants and pull on a pair of jeans (that fit like they’re supposed to fit.)

    • Yeah the mom is ridiculous and lazy first of all two of those kids should dress themselves or at least change pants, you men to tell me the few minutes are not there to spare so you don’t look like crap in public? Again my kid may not match all the time 🙂 but hey he does not wear pajamas it bothers me to see that too. I wear my athletic pants but they are fitted, no sweatpants, I don’t want to look sloppy either. I got done with that statement and though I bet her house is a disaster

  5. Maybe just a law that states your dangly parts must be within the PJ’s — that’s there already?

  6. I’d wear my pajama’s outside today, except for the minus 25 degree wind chill. (Somethings I just can’t risk getting frostbitten)

  7. What ever happened to “The law doesn’t concern itself with trifles”? Defining PJs is definitely a problem, and I’ve seen much worse.

    I have a much better idea for a clothing law:

    “Any for-profit enterprise that allows its logo or brand name to be displayed prominently on an article of clothing must pay the wearer minmum hourly wage to wear it in public.”

  8. It’s stupid, but it’s not revealing. There’s already plenty of laws about guys not having their Shazams out in public, so we don’t need another one. For me, wearing pajamas in public is like wearing a huge sign that says “I’m a lazy idiot.”

  9. Wow…well if that’s that town’s major problem, then congrats to them! “today it’s pajamas, tomorrow it’s underwear… where do we draw the line?” hahaha!! fun post and pictures!

  10. And I thought Australian government initiatives were trivial and wasteful!! Someone needs to dress this bloke in the brightest and most colourful PJ’s on earth, then hang him (humanely and alive) from a light pole in the main street as a warning to other politicians of what should happen to these stupid people!

  11. I wouldn’t pass a law against it, but I don’t like to see form-fitting jammies on people in public unless it’s a fine female form that they’re fitting. Fittingly, even then I think: “They’d look much better out in public in form-fitting pants, jeans, or dress, than in those silly Tweety-bird jammies.”

  12. Wish I sitll had underroos…

  13. I work in retail and see people in their pajamas a lot. Most of the time they look dirty. I wonder if they change them before they go to bed.
    If they do have to change them, then why wear them out.

  14. Then there’s Frank Zappa’s “Po-Jama People.”

  15. The idea of leaving my house in my PJ’s is so exotic to me that i suddenly feel tempted to try it out 🙂 see, unintenionally you just added one more person to the PJ’s club, with your post 🙂

  16. Loved this post. I just bloody love hearing that somebody is talking about sending their grown ass, flannel covered bottoms to do community service. How depressed and lifeless would a person have to be order to feel comfortable sauntering around the store in their PJ’s?

    • I mean I will credit a convenient gas staion run hey it happens, but on the regular? I think clothes might be a better option. I also don’t remember this being acceptable back in the day…?

  17. This is pretty mind numbing. I mean, if your junk is showing, then that’s public exposure which is illegal. This guy is trying to outlaw something just because he doesn’t like it and people are actually taking him seriously? Plus, if they outlaw PJ’s in public, it’s going to take all the fun out of going to Walmart. I’m glad I don’t live in Shreveport. They have a “no sagging” law? They must have major plumbing problems.

    • Well, I just think energy could be used elsewhere, it’s not like there aren’t other important things going on. Plus, I am sure there are laws covering the problem with junk showing right? Maybe pushing that law? Silliness!

  18. he didn’t like pj’s
    what about if we banned clothes altogether? (~_~)

    • My thoughts exactly, I mean, you’re covered up! I don’t care who wears what if they’re not exposing too much. I mean, there are probably better things to wear but that comes down to personal preference and freedom right?

  19. The funny thing is you have some people trolling around Walmart even LESS covered; 13 year old prosti-tots, GIANT obese people with all manner of body parts hanging out, women with…er, no fashion sense, men with their plumber’s crack hanging out of their chinos… So as long as the clothes that all this flesh is hanging out of ISN’T pajamas, we’re cool, right?

Leave a Reply

